Playlists One

I got a book last week called The Rough Guide Book of Playlists: 500 Irresistible Playlist Ideas for Your iPod or MP3 Player.”  It’s been marginally helpful.  There’s a list from folk/world music writer Ian Anderson called “European Roots.”  I’m a fan of music from other parts of the world than my own, and I hadn’t heard of a single group on his list.  That’s nice.  But there are a lot of lists that don’t grab me; a lot of choices on lists that I think were not the best.  So, I’m going to do a few of my own.

The Joni Mitchell list in the book only includes two songs I would’ve picked.  Here’s my list.  (And I admit it neglects her early and late stuff.  The earlier songs tend to be a little shrill and folky; the later ones seem to be too forced, too purposely obscure.  Hejira is, to me, her high point.)

  1. Songs to Aging Children Come (from Clouds)
  2. All I Want (from Blue)
  3. Carey (from Blue)
  4. A Case of You (from Blue)
  5. Car on a Hill (from Court and Spark)
  6. In France They Kiss on Main Street (from The Hissing of Summer Lawns)
  7. Don’t Interrupt the Sorrow (from The Hissing of Summer Lawns)
  8. Amelia (from Hejira)
  9. Son for Sharon (from Hejira)
  10. Night Ride Home (from Night Ride Home)

And a bonus: “River” from Herbie Hancock‘s The Joni Letters, with a vocal by Corinne Bailey Rae.

Leave a comment