Mambo Italiano: I

A grand total of two songwriters put Italy on my musical map, but both are right at the top of my list: Nino Rota and Paolo Conte.  This time, Nino; next time, Paolo.

caricature of Rota by Fellini

The composer-director bond was even closer between Federico Fellini and Nino Rota than it was between Alfred Hitchcock and his most-tenured soundtrack composer Bernard Herrmann.  A Fellini film without Rota music, to me, is not really a Fellini film.

It was a perfect match: Fellini is lusty, whimsical, mercurial, and very Italian, and Nino Rota’s music supports every scene it is paired with.  Fellini once said the only music he ever listened to was Rota’s.  Rota created soundtrack music for other directors (Coppola’s The Godfather, Zeffirelli’s Romeo and Juliet, and many more).  But he was made for Fellini.

So now, a list of Fellini soundtracks by Rota that I own on vinyl, in order of preference:

  1. Casanova–A dark set of songs, ranging from eerie to stormy, but some of Rota’s most beautiful music.  The movie was not so hot.
  2. Amarcord–Fellini’s return to his formative years is light and playful and this soundtrack is full of youthful spirit.  The title theme recurs in many styles, always sounding fresh.
  3. Juliet of the SpiritsLots of electric piano and discordance complement the unsettled mood of the movie.
  4. La Dolce Vita–This soundtrack, like the movie, is a whirlwind, and interpolates some classical themes, some jaunty jazz, and a well-placed “Stormy Weather”-into-“La Cucaracha” segment.
  5. 8 1/2–More memorable themes.  I nominate Nino Rota’s music as the most whistle-able music ever.
  6. Roma–This soundtrack may be one of the less whistle-able ones, but it’s still very interesting.
  7. The Clowns–Rota music often borders on being carnival and circus music, this soundtrack a little too much so.
  8. Satyricon–I never got into this movie or its soundtrack.

I add to my Rota soundtrack collection whenever I run across any I don’t have.  It’s been awhile since I’ve seen anything.  Some Fellini soundtracks are rare or don’t exist, but here are a couple of choice Fellini-Rota tribute albums with songs from other Fellini films:

Spanish-language promo still

Concerto per Fellini by Katyna Ranieri–Ranieri sings songs from many Fellini soundtracks.  Music by Rota, lyrics added by others.  Most work very well.  Included on the double disc are “I Vitelloni,” “La Strada,” “Cabiria,” and “Maggie” from Il Bidone.

Omaggio a Federico e Giulietta by Caetano Veloso–The Brazilian singer performs a live tribute concert, which includes the Rota songs “Gelsomina,” “Come Tu Mi Vuoi,” and the Veloso-penned “Giulietta Masina.”  (Masina was Federico’s wife and longtime muse, starring in La Strada, Nights of Cabiria, and several others.)

This post has started me whistling.  I can’t help it.

2 responses

  1. […] the soundtracks of both La Strada and La Notti di Cabiria. I posted not too long ago about the Nino Rota music I cherished. These two round out my collection […]

Leave a comment